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Employers are required to post the workers’ compensation
poster with the Notice of Accident Forms at their workplaces.

The Workers” Compensation Administration asks all
insurers and self-insurance administrators to educate
employers so that they comply correctly with the posting

requirement.
Employers should be Complying with
advised to: the law:
e Display the poster e If the poster is displayed
properly at all work without the forms
sites; attached or adjacent,

e Post Notice of Accident
(NOA) forms with the
poster;

o Educate their employees
on the use of the NOA
forms.

e The poster has a blank
space in which the
employer is required to
write the name of the
employer’s insurance
carrier or self-insurance
program, along with a
contact telephone
number.

e The contacts must be
located in New Mexico
as required by law.

e Employers are requlred

to hang or post a supp
of NOA forms attacE c?’

to the poster. The forms
can be hung at the

bottom where indicated.

that does not comply
with the law.

e Employers must give
workers access to the
two-part carbonless
Notice of Accident form
or a printed copy that
can be downloaded
from the WCA website.

e When a worker uses
the form to report an
accident, the employer
is required to accept
the form as the worker’s
official notice, to si
and date the form and
give the worker a copy.

Where to get

posters and forms:

The WCA poster and NOA
are available on the WCA
web site:
www.workerscomp.state.nm.us

Go to any WCA officein
person; for large quantities,
please telephone ahead.

To request and receive
printed copies of the poster
and /or Notice of Accident
forms by mail, contact the
Publications Office at:

Call: (505) 841-6000 or,
1-800-255-7965,
or email request to:
wca.hotline@state.nm.us

These materials are free of
charge. For large quantities,
you will be asked to pay
mailing costs.

WCA HELPLINE - HOTLINE:

(toll free in New Mexico)

1-866-WORKOMP

www.workerscomp.state.nm.us

1-866-967-5667




What is the poster for and why
are employers required to post it?

The purpose of the workers’ compensation poster is:

e to inform workers that their employer has
workers’ compensation insurance (or
self-insurance) coverage, and that they have
certain rights if they are injured;

» to provide a way for workers to notify their
employers in writing if they have an accident,
with a copy that the worker may keep for his or
her own records.

By law, employers must allow their employees to
report accidents in writing using the NOA forms. Itis
not legal for employers to require employees to report
by another method, unless the employer has received
approval from the Director of the WCA.

The intention of the law is for workers to have free
access to the forms. If the worker has to ask the
supervisor for a form to fill out, that is contrary to the
purpose of the law.

When does a worker NOT have to use an
NOA form?

e If the employer (or someone in authority, such as
a supervisor) had “actual notice” of the accident.
Usually this means the employer or supervisor
was present and witnessed the accident.

e If the worker is prevented from giving notice by
circumstances beyond the worker’s control. In
such case, the worker must give notice within
60 days.

What is the consequence if an employer
does not post the poster?

The right of the injured worker to notify the employer
and make a claim is extended from 15 days to 60 days.

This is considered to be a disadvantage for the employer,
especially if there is any question about whether the
claim was valid. It is very hard to investigate an accident
60 days after it happened.

This Special Edition WCA Bulletin is published by the

Public Information Office of the New Mexico Workers® Compensation Administration.

Frequently asked questions:

May employers print their own posters?

If privately printed posters are exact copies of the WCA
poster, and are provided to employers by insurers free of
charge, that is acceptable.

How long will the current poster last?

The current poster is valid until it is rescinded by order
of the Director, a change in the rules, or a change in the
law. The previous poster was in use for 11 years.

What if employers want to put the poster into a frame
so that there will be a neat display?

That is OK as long as NOA forms are placed near the
poster and are accessible to workers.

What about the poster that employers can buy from
commercial companies?
e [tis not necessary for employers to buy
commercial posters.

e Commercially purchased posters are acceptable
by law if they are identical to the WCA poster.

e Commercial vendors normally do not provide
NOA forms to employers along with the
mandatory posters. If the employer does not post
NOA forms, it does not comply with the law.

NEW MEXICO WORKERS' COMPENSATION ADMINISTRATION OFFICES
Albuquerque Headquarters:
2410 Centre Ave. SE Albuquerque, NM 87106
Phone: (505) 841-6000 toll-free: 1-800-255-7965

Regional Field Offices:

Farmington:
2700 Farmington Ave., Bldg. E, Ste. 2 Farmington, NM 87401

Phone: (505) 599-9746 toll-free: 1-800-568-7310

Las Cruces:
1120 Commerce Dr, Suite B-1 Las Cruces, NM 88011
Phone: (575) 524-6246 toll-free: 1-800-870-6826

Las Vegas:
32 NM 65 Las Vegas, NM 87701

Phone: (505) 454-9251toll-free: 1-800-281-7889

Lovington:
100 West Central, Suite A Lovington, NM 88260

Phone: (575) 396-3437 toll-free: 1-800-934-2450

Roswell:
Penn Plaza Building, 400N. Pennsylvania Ave., Ste. 425
Roswell, NM 88201 (575) 623-3997 toll-free: 1-866-311-83587

Santa Fe:
Aspen Plaza Building, 1596 Pacheco St., Suite 202
Santa Fe, NM 87505 Phone: (505) 476-7381



